News | Fitzroy Doncaster Cricket Club


Maxy T 20 Player of the Year!
Date of Event : Wed Feb 13, 2019 2:35PM

"Our Maxy" has won his second T20 International Player of the Year Award at Monday's Australian Cricket Awards.

He previously won the award in 2015, and becomes the third multiple winner as Australian cricket's top men's T20 player after Shane Watson (2012, 2013 and 2017) and Aaron Finch (2014, 2018).

Maxy polled 33 votes to win ahead of D'Arcy Short (30 votes) and AJ Tye (29 votes).

He also played all 19 T20 games for Australia, scoring 506 runs at 36.14 with a strike rate of 143.75 and was also Australia's equal third-most prolific wicket-taker in the format with nine scalps despite being used for just 17 overs and conceding a respectable 7.59 runs per over.

His most memorable performance was the unbeaten 103 he struck against England in Hobart last February when he brought up the milestone, and the victory, with a six.



Last updated: Wednesday February 13, 2019 2:49PM